No Mom. Mom. No. Mom. No.
These are a set of words I have been hearing a lot these days. They go along with some mighty strong hand gestures as well. They usually start a sentence about something B doesn't want me to say no to. Like buying new toys at the store, having fruit snacks for breakfast, or just about anything else he wants me to say yes to. The other day he did this to me and my husband just laughed and said "It's just so funny and cute". The problem is he is right. He does look pretty darn cute when he is waving his hands around and often putting his hand on my face as he says "No Mom" repeatedly. After talking about how cute it is my husband and I then proceeded to add on to the "No Mom" phrase with things B might say as a teenager. "No Mom, it wasn't my fault I got the speeding ticket" or "No Mom, we were drinking" I can just hear him now saying a multitude of different "No Mom" sentences. Hopefully he will still listen to me when I say no to his often unrealistic requests and his "No Mom's" will just be innocent little teenager things. Lets hope.
Toothpaste!
Since visiting the dentist in July we have been trying to get B to use fluoride toothpaste. Up until now he has been using a fluoride free kind, My Little Pony, and loving it. So we began what is now a great quest to find a toothpaste B will use. I have bought 6 different types by now all of which get the same reaction "yuck". We have bought dollar toothpaste up to the expensive all organic four dollar toothpaste. All of which sits in our bathroom waiting to be used. I have given some to our niece, but even her taste is limited and will only accept certain kinds. We have gone through all the flavors available at our favorite stores and may have to go to the health food stores to see if they have any unflavored kinds or something. I just am at a loss as to what to do. He likes mint, but won't try our toothpaste because it's for grownups. So the hunt continues for a toothpaste B will use.
The News
Every night I try my hardest to stay connected to the world by watching the world news. B knows this and no matter what I do, he just gets louder and more talkative during the show. I try and turn up the volume but it only brings B volume up with it. The other night though he actually sat and was playing nicely next to me on the couch. They began to talk about kids and the increased salt intake over the years and giving examples of how much salt is in foods kids love.Even talking about the increased blood pressure of children over the past decade. I listened and thought about B's own salt intake wondering if it is too high or not when he turned to me and said "I should not eat salt. It will higher my blood pressure. What is blood pressure?" This was a tough question to answer. How do you explain to a 4 year old what blood pressure is. But, I did my best and he seemed to accept it and then went right on playing with his toys. The things he catches onto at times amazes me.
B is the Reason
Tuesday, September 18, 2012
Wednesday, September 12, 2012
SEPTEMBER 12, 2012
B and I have been pretty busy this summer. A few weeks back we went up north with one of his little friends and her mom, who is my friend. The weekend was very successful! Everyone had fun and there were only a few mishaps, which is pretty good considering two rambunctious kids.
With them both being sooooo excited it was tough to get them to bed the first night, but when the second night came, it was much better,
During the trip we (my friend C) and I figured out what we would and wouldn't do nest time. Next time we will take them to the fantastic county park they have. Next time we will NOT take them both grocery shopping. Running up and down the isle's after the two was a bit embarrassing, but luckily we were able to laugh at it later. We also will NOT take them to the bathroom at the same time in the same stall. C did this and all I could here from the stall next door, where I was, was "No Baden don't pee on D!". Another thing we were able to laugh at later.
B and I were able to ride in a kayak for the first time which we both really enjoyed. It took a couple minutes for me to get the balance right. but once we had it we were good. B enjoyed putting his hands in the water and try and help "paddle".
All in all it was an awesome weekend and we both hope to get to do it again with our friends again!
Other things we have done this summer are:
With them both being sooooo excited it was tough to get them to bed the first night, but when the second night came, it was much better,
During the trip we (my friend C) and I figured out what we would and wouldn't do nest time. Next time we will take them to the fantastic county park they have. Next time we will NOT take them both grocery shopping. Running up and down the isle's after the two was a bit embarrassing, but luckily we were able to laugh at it later. We also will NOT take them to the bathroom at the same time in the same stall. C did this and all I could here from the stall next door, where I was, was "No Baden don't pee on D!". Another thing we were able to laugh at later.
B and I were able to ride in a kayak for the first time which we both really enjoyed. It took a couple minutes for me to get the balance right. but once we had it we were good. B enjoyed putting his hands in the water and try and help "paddle".
All in all it was an awesome weekend and we both hope to get to do it again with our friends again!
Other things we have done this summer are:
- Coulder Dairy with Mimi, TC, and J
- water park with Bono, Lo, Mimi , TC, J, and Mitz
- Frenenmueth and Bronner's with Daddio
- beach with D & C
- lots of trips to the library (banned from getting books though, only puppetsor video's)
- walking or riding up to the park (the school near by)
- playing outside in the sandbox, on the swings, and in the little pool.
- Livonia Farmers market - which is really small but worth going.
- visiting friends from school at park near old school
- going to the dentist for the first time
- getting a "real" haircut for the first time
- several different bike races - some which B raced in the kids race!
- going to the castle park
- blueberry picking with Aunt D.
Sunday, August 19, 2012
August 19, 2012
WOW! It has been over a year since I last posted. Definitely did not stick to the plan of blogging on a regular basis. All I can say is that last year was a bad year. Started in July and didn't end for quite some time. Doing better this year, but everyday is a new day.
SO....B just, well last month, celebrated his 4th birthday! It was of course a monster truck theme party. The party started great and then slowly began to fade, along with the birthday boy. He ended up having a 103 degree temp that night. Half way through his party he asked to go inside with me and for me to get his yellow comfy blanket. He then sat snuggled on the couch the rest of the party. He did blow out his candles, but didn't even have any cake. Poor guy.
Since then he's been healthy and as active as ever and he NEVER stops talking! Which we love to have conversations with him, they are the best. He will just go on and on about something, it's too cute.
I guess I will make the same claim as I did last year, that I will try to continue this blog about out little B, or big B as he thinks, to the best of my ability. Definitely will not take me another YEAR to post again. Next time I will be more prepared with pictures and a longer update, today was just a "I'm still here" kind of thing.
SO....B just, well last month, celebrated his 4th birthday! It was of course a monster truck theme party. The party started great and then slowly began to fade, along with the birthday boy. He ended up having a 103 degree temp that night. Half way through his party he asked to go inside with me and for me to get his yellow comfy blanket. He then sat snuggled on the couch the rest of the party. He did blow out his candles, but didn't even have any cake. Poor guy.
Since then he's been healthy and as active as ever and he NEVER stops talking! Which we love to have conversations with him, they are the best. He will just go on and on about something, it's too cute.
I guess I will make the same claim as I did last year, that I will try to continue this blog about out little B, or big B as he thinks, to the best of my ability. Definitely will not take me another YEAR to post again. Next time I will be more prepared with pictures and a longer update, today was just a "I'm still here" kind of thing.
Tuesday, June 21, 2011
JUNE 21
B is the reason for so many things. I just need to remember that on stressful days when I just want to crawl into a cave and hide away. I have so many little stories to share and hope to make a FIRM commitment into this blog. Soon. Very soon.
Monday, May 23, 2011
MAY 23
This past weekend B was with his Aunt D. I was supposed to have gone on a trip with my sister and niece, but we canceled the trip at the last minute. We could not however cancel B’s trip to Aunt D’s house. All week long he would say “I go D’s house?” over and over. We would then talk about ALL the toys at D’s house, his cousin’s M and G, and his Uncle B. They would be going to M’s baseball games and so we talked about that as well.
The day finally came and we packed up his bags and out of the house we went! We met them at a ball park and they were going to have a great day outside watching M play baseball. As D rolled him away in the wagon, B barely looked back at me to say good bye. A pang of sadness came over me as I thought of how I would miss him, but the pang quickly turned into a ping that said “You have an entire day and night to yourself!” I drove to the mall as fast as I could. I didn’t even have any real reason to go, but to be able to browse and wander aimlessly throughout the mall without the worry of a stroller or a little guy who may get fussy any minute was so…….liberating!
I wondered throughout the mall, even bought a few things. Tried clothes on before buying them, and walked through the kitchen/housewares department of Macy’s. That alone is an awesome thing. Maneuvering through that department with a stroller that has arms to reach out and touch and knock over all the breakables should be considered for an Olympic event.
After the mall I returned something I had bought and actually just walked into the store, up to the counter, and BAM. Item returned and out the door. No yelling or whining about wanting to stay and look at toys or wanting candy that is at arm’s reach.
My day was just a day to putts around and do whatever came to mind.
That night we went out, ate dinner super late, and even stayed up to watch Saturday Night Live. I wish I could say that I slept in but I can’t. It seems the later I go to bed, the worse I sleep through the night and can’t seem to sleep in. My habit of going to bed at 9:00 P.M. did not go well with staying up late for a fun night without B.
Sunday morning, I got up and headed out to Target, another store that is tough to go to with B, and then I was off to another ball park to pick B up from. I parked and found the right ball field and headed to the crowd watching, B was there on the outskirts running around a tree the umbrella was up next to with the wagon and a blanket spread out to play on. He was so cute running around. He was wearing his floppy hat and just looked too cute. When he noticed me he yelled “MOM!” and came running.
The time I have away from him often makes the time together even better. It’s not every day he's that excited to see me.
Wednesday, April 20, 2011
APRIL 20
TERRIBLE TWO'S??
For years before you have kids you here of the famed "terrible two's". The screaming, whining, hitting, scratching, wild beast you encounter when your little one hits the wonderful age of 2 is the demon in your dreams. You brace for it when they approach 12 months, then 18, and as the dreaded 24 months approach, day by day you wait.
But it never really came for B. He was happy, easy going, easily calmed or redirected, and just all around a good little guy.
Until Lately. He has changed, and not for the good. A good friend has a little one (M) that is a few years ahead of B, and for a while she's been talking about how horrible the 3's were and how 4 was a little better, but not much. This same friend once sat in the parking lot after we had lunch and waited for M, who was then 3, to get in the seat. B and I drove away and I thought "Why doesn't she just PUT her in her seat?", I thought this with my "educated child care provider of 12 - 24 month old children" mind. Lately I have found myself sitting in the back seat of the car waiting for B to get in his car seat or better yet, after having put him in it taking him out of it because HE wanted to do it.
The 3's are truly terrible. A torrential flood of emotions.
I literally have to say that we just now had our biggest "fight". It was over him wanting another cupcake and grabbing it off the counter when I said no. He then proceeded to throw his toys off his table while screaming. I picked him up and put him on his bed and told him to sit there. He instantly (I don't know why I thought it would work) got up and ran after me screaming even louder and swinging. I then picked him back up, carried him back to his room, set him on his bed, and put up his gate. The putting up of the gate had to be really swift in order to make it out of his room before he did. I then went downstairs to the basement to get a container for the cupcakes. The whole time I could hear him screaming, I mean screaming, for me. I calmly put the cupcakes away and then put them up where he could not even see them. After that I (again calmly) walked down the hall to his room. He was a mess. I stepped over the gate and sat in his rocking chair and picked him up. He was so upset.
I don't think I have ever made him so mad. And the whole time I kept thinking "Is this going to scar him for life? Is he always going to remember crying at the gate and calling for me and me not coming?".
And he won't even be a full fledged 3 year old until July! And then a whole year of him being 3. I am not looking forward to anymore "fights" like tonight.
For years before you have kids you here of the famed "terrible two's". The screaming, whining, hitting, scratching, wild beast you encounter when your little one hits the wonderful age of 2 is the demon in your dreams. You brace for it when they approach 12 months, then 18, and as the dreaded 24 months approach, day by day you wait.
But it never really came for B. He was happy, easy going, easily calmed or redirected, and just all around a good little guy.
Until Lately. He has changed, and not for the good. A good friend has a little one (M) that is a few years ahead of B, and for a while she's been talking about how horrible the 3's were and how 4 was a little better, but not much. This same friend once sat in the parking lot after we had lunch and waited for M, who was then 3, to get in the seat. B and I drove away and I thought "Why doesn't she just PUT her in her seat?", I thought this with my "educated child care provider of 12 - 24 month old children" mind. Lately I have found myself sitting in the back seat of the car waiting for B to get in his car seat or better yet, after having put him in it taking him out of it because HE wanted to do it.
The 3's are truly terrible. A torrential flood of emotions.
I literally have to say that we just now had our biggest "fight". It was over him wanting another cupcake and grabbing it off the counter when I said no. He then proceeded to throw his toys off his table while screaming. I picked him up and put him on his bed and told him to sit there. He instantly (I don't know why I thought it would work) got up and ran after me screaming even louder and swinging. I then picked him back up, carried him back to his room, set him on his bed, and put up his gate. The putting up of the gate had to be really swift in order to make it out of his room before he did. I then went downstairs to the basement to get a container for the cupcakes. The whole time I could hear him screaming, I mean screaming, for me. I calmly put the cupcakes away and then put them up where he could not even see them. After that I (again calmly) walked down the hall to his room. He was a mess. I stepped over the gate and sat in his rocking chair and picked him up. He was so upset.
I don't think I have ever made him so mad. And the whole time I kept thinking "Is this going to scar him for life? Is he always going to remember crying at the gate and calling for me and me not coming?".
And he won't even be a full fledged 3 year old until July! And then a whole year of him being 3. I am not looking forward to anymore "fights" like tonight.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)