Tuesday, June 21, 2011

JUNE 21

B is the reason for so many things. I just need to remember that on stressful days when I just want to crawl into a cave and hide away. I have so many little stories to share and hope to make a FIRM commitment into this blog. Soon. Very soon.

Monday, May 23, 2011

MAY 23

This past weekend B was with his Aunt D. I was supposed to have gone on a trip with my sister and niece, but we canceled the trip at the last minute. We could not however cancel B’s trip to Aunt D’s house. All week long he would say “I go D’s house?” over and over. We would then talk about ALL the toys at D’s house, his cousin’s M and G, and his Uncle B. They would be going to M’s baseball games and so we talked about that as well.

The day finally came and we packed up his bags and out of the house we went! We met them at a ball park and they were going to have a great day outside watching M play baseball. As D rolled him away in the wagon, B barely looked back at me to say good bye. A pang of sadness came over me as I thought of how I would miss him, but the pang quickly turned into a ping that said “You have an entire day and night to yourself!” I drove to the mall as fast as I could. I didn’t even have any real reason to go, but to be able to browse and wander aimlessly throughout the mall without the worry of a stroller or a little guy who may get fussy any minute was so…….liberating!

I wondered throughout the mall, even bought a few things. Tried clothes on before buying them, and walked through the kitchen/housewares department of Macy’s. That alone is an awesome thing. Maneuvering through that department with a stroller that has arms to reach out and touch and knock over all the breakables should be considered for an Olympic event.

After the mall I returned something I had bought and actually just walked into the store, up to the counter, and BAM. Item returned and out the door. No yelling or whining about wanting to stay and look at toys or wanting candy that is at arm’s reach.

My day was just a day to putts around and do whatever came to mind.

That night we went out, ate dinner super late, and even stayed up to watch Saturday Night Live. I wish I could say that I slept in but I can’t. It seems the later I go to bed, the worse I sleep through the night and can’t seem to sleep in. My habit of going to bed at 9:00 P.M. did not go well with staying up late for a fun night without B.

Sunday morning, I got up and headed out to Target, another store that is tough to go to with B, and then I was off to another ball park to pick B up from. I parked and found the right ball field and headed to the crowd watching, B was there on the outskirts running around a tree the umbrella was up next to with the wagon and a blanket spread out to play on. He was so cute running around. He was wearing his floppy hat and just looked too cute. When he noticed me he yelled “MOM!” and came running.

The time I have away from him often makes the time together even better. It’s not every day he's that excited to see me.

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

APRIL 20

TERRIBLE TWO'S??
For years before you have kids you here of the famed "terrible two's". The screaming, whining, hitting, scratching, wild beast you encounter when your little one hits the wonderful age of 2 is the demon in your dreams. You brace for it when they approach 12 months, then 18, and as the dreaded 24 months approach, day by day you wait.

But it never really came for B. He was happy, easy going, easily calmed or redirected, and just all around a good little guy.


Until Lately. He has changed, and not for the good. A good friend has a little one (M) that is a few years ahead of B, and for a while she's been talking about how horrible the 3's were and how 4 was a little better, but not much. This same friend once sat in the parking lot after we had lunch and waited for M, who was then 3, to get in the seat. B and I drove away and I thought "Why doesn't she just PUT her in her seat?", I thought this with my "educated child care provider of 12 - 24 month old children" mind. Lately I have found myself sitting in the back seat of the car waiting for B to get in his car seat or better yet, after having put him in it taking him out of it because HE wanted to do it.

The 3's are truly terrible. A torrential flood of emotions.

I literally have to say that we just now had our biggest "fight". It was over him wanting another cupcake and grabbing it off the counter when I said no. He then proceeded to throw his toys off his table while screaming. I picked him up and put him on his bed and told him to sit there. He instantly (I don't know why I thought it would work) got up and ran after me screaming even louder and swinging. I then picked him back up, carried him back to his room, set him on his bed, and put up his gate. The putting up of the gate had to be really swift in order to make it out of his room before he did. I then went downstairs to the basement to get a container for the cupcakes. The whole time I could hear him screaming, I mean screaming, for me. I calmly put the cupcakes away and then put them up where he could not even see them. After that I (again calmly) walked down the hall to his room. He was a mess. I stepped over the gate and sat in his rocking chair and picked him up. He was so upset.

I don't think I have ever made him so mad. And the whole time I kept thinking "Is this going to scar him for life? Is he always going to remember crying at the gate and calling for me and me not coming?".

And he won't even be a full fledged 3 year old until July! And then a whole year of him being 3. I am not looking forward to anymore "fights" like tonight.

Saturday, April 9, 2011

DSC_6562

DSC_6562 by abbyflack
DSC_6562, a photo by abbyflack on Flickr.

This was taken 4-8-2011 while going for a walk. B was riding his bike while we walked with the dog/ He had just noticed the neighbors and was waving to them. This shows how much he loves our neighbors and how much they love him as well. They have always shown him such care and love. I am so happy to have them for B to grow up next to.

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

APRIL 5

So I have been REALLY bad this past month about posting. I think I find a minute and then it escapes me. B has grown so much this past month it is just mind blowing. He truly is no longer a toddler but a little boy. The way he talks, plays, eats, moves, everything!

He has also entered the stage where we watch the same movie over and over and over again.  The movie: Cars. Plus we are now collecting the little cars/vehicles and take them everywhere we go. The other day at the store I saw them for a good price and find myself thinking "When can I go buy him more without him knowing". I am just as obsessed as he is, well not quite, but I really do want to go buy more!

B is an only child and will always be one. I grew up with three sibling, and so did his Dad. We try and spend as much time with his cousin TC as much as possible and enjoy watching them interact just like sibling. Quite a few friends at school have either older siblings or new younger ones. With all the talk of brothers and sisters B has taken to calling certain friends his sister, brother, or cousin, no matter their gender. His one friend J is always changing from sister to brother to cousin and then back to sister. It is is cute. Today when we left school he got really excited when we walked through another room and he yelled "There's G! My sister!". I especially like it when he calls the dog and cat his brother and sister, because that is true and super sweet.

Sunday, March 6, 2011

MARCH 6

Time keeps on slipping into the future. That song is in my head this morning as I think of B. Time just keeps going faster and faster it seems when I think of him and how everyday he just keeps getting bigger and bigger and smarter and smarter. The smarter I can deal with, the bigger I can't. One day he isn't going to insist on sitting on me to watch Curious George or that I lay in bed with him at night to fall asleep.

  • Yesterday I dropped him off at a friends house for a play date while I went to a class for work. He truly didn't care that I left him. It was great to know hoe comfortable he feels with the family but a little sad that he didn't care of I was there or not. When I picked him up he was excited to see me, but mostly to show me a toy train he wanted to bring home and "borrow".

  • Lately I have been trying to have him do little chores around the house. Well one little chore, feeding the cat. He does pretty well and the dog really thinks he does a great job, with the food he feeds her from the floor. Lately though when I have been asking him to feed the cat, he tells me "You do". Not exactly what I want to hear from a 2 1/2 year old but would expect from a 16 year old. I have tried a new tactic in having him help me. I give him an incentive, not a bribe, an incentive. It started off with a star drawn on his hand and has now evolved into either a race car or space ship, which sometimes really looks like either one. It is fun though. He has even started to insist on drawing on me. I really like his fire trucks.


    • One of his favorite things to help with me, other than the dishes, is laundry. He isn't that great of a helper, but does enjoy being on the bed while I fold laundry. He is good at matching socks though, and of course throwing the piles of folded clothes onto the floor. One day while folding clothes I started to sing a song about matching songs. He got off the bed and ran down the hall toward Daddy all while yelling "Don't like that song". You can't please all your fans all the time.
    • Driving home lately he has been more aware of what the other cars around us are doing. He has always looked at the other cars, and of course trucks, but now it seems like he is looking at them and how they affect us. The other day while driving home I was a bit frustrated at how slow people were going for no apparent reason and said "Come on people" he then asked what "they" were doing and I said going to slow. A few minutes later he yelled "Go people on the line". 
    • The other weekend he watched racing at two different time, once with Papa and another time with his Uncle B and he really seemed to enjoy it, especially the crashing part. He now tells me to go fast like a race car while driving and then adds "Now crash!" I've tried explaining that we can't crash that it would hurt us and our car, but he still keeps on asking. He is persistent. 

      Sunday, February 20, 2011

      FEBRUARY 20

      I admit that my language is not G rated all the time. It has gotten much better since having B around, but I have not cut out all my favorite words to say in frustration. Up until now B hasn't repeated any of my bad habits. Yes, I said up until now. And boy was it funny!

      B has been taking the remote's and "fixing" them by taking the back off and looking at the batteries. I then take it from him and help fix it by putting the back on again. Over and over we play this game. Impressively we have yet to lose the battery cover on any of our remotes. The other night Mimi was over and B found a remote and started to "fix" it. He came next to me and put the remote on the arm of the couch,he then took off the back and said "Janet" (Janet is the name of one of his teachers at school). Mimi and I looked at each other, we both thought that he had said Damn it. I asked him what he said and again he said "Janet". I looked at Mimi again and said, without B noticing, "I think he means to say Damn it", Mimi agreed. B continued to "fix" the remote and again started talking to himself. This time there was no mistaking it, he came right out and clear as day said "Damn it". It was great. Damn it is the one phrase I can not do without.

      Wednesday, February 16, 2011

      FEBRUARY 16


      Another big post update all about B, I’ve been writing them down waiting to have time to post them all. It’s amazing how his little mind works. Every day he does or says something that just makes me do a double take.  Here are some little glimpses into his little mind.

      •  At our house we have been trying to cut back on TV time. When we get home during the week I don’t turn the TV on until we are ready to watch one show before bed or if I want to watch the news. I like the world news that comes on at 6:30 so it’s a little early because we usually watch a show at 7:30 before bed.  So I have to really think about wanting to be informed about the worlds happenings before I turn the TV on, because once it’s on, it stays on.  One day last week I was really interested in what was happening in Egypt, the whole “people wanting a change and peacefully protesting” thing. I was trying hard to listen as B made sounds of fire trucks, ambulances, and “big trucks”, all while climbing on me with his toys. I tried reasoning with him, telling him I wanted to listen to the news, basically pleading with him to cooperate for the remainder of the snow.  He of course at this point starting paying attention to what was on the news.  At the time they were showing all the people gathered in the square protesting and he quickly asked “What they doing?” I said they are protesting because they want a new president, I know it’s a bit over his head, but I just didn’t know what else to say. He then became even more interested in watching the people protest. He sat for a minute or two watching the people, I was happy because gone were the sirens and I could actually listen to the news correspondent. When all of a sudden B looked at me and put his little hands into fists and threw them up in the air and said “People mad! Want presents! Want toys!” If only that is all the people of Egypt wanted. Through the eyes of the child no problem is too big. Just give the people toys and they will be happy.


      • McDonald's marketing team is genius. Not only do they have the most recognizable sign, (I think possibly in the whole world) they offer toys with their food! It’s amazing how fast B learned this. And it’s amazing just how many McD’s there are on the drive home, to the grocery store, to the gas station, and on the way to Grandmother’s house. It’s a tough one because it is just so easy to stop on the way home and pick up a meal for around $4.00, especially on those super busy weekday nights where you have no idea how you are going to make dinner, let alone get to bed at all. B has taken to call it Old MacDonald’s. And nearly every day when we drive past one that is seconds from our house, he says “We go Old MacDonald’s?” And nearly every day I respond, “No, not today”. My response usually provokes a few grunts and groans mixed in with some powerful yes’s. If he didn’t eat the meals I would have no problem with McD’s, but he does eat them and usually pretty well. But it just doesn’t help me try to cut back on the buying of toys for B. He gets a meal he eats and a toy he asks for daily. McD’s is a thorn in my “trying to cut back on buying B toys” campaign.


      • B really doesn’t have any experience with tiny, newborn babies. He see’s little one’s at school but not new, new babies. Yesterday we got to see one! A little friend at school just became a big brother. His Momma came to pick him up and had the new baby in a sling under her coat all nice and cozy. I was chatting with the mom and gushing over how sweet the little guy was right before we walked into the Butterfly room where both the boys were. They saw us and each came over to us, ready to go home. I told B about the Baby C’s Momma had and he looked at it all bundled up under the Momma’s coat. He seemed a little interested, but was distracted because C really wanted his cookie he had decorated earlier that day and was crying to his Momma about it. I of course wanted B to instantly love the tiny baby and gush over it like I did. He just looked at it. I really didn’t think he paid much attention until later that night when we were playing with his tiny trucks. He was driving them on my belly, which he was calling a hill, and making the appropriate noises for them. When he said they were “baby” trucks and even started pretend crying for them. He noticed my pocket and then drove the truck the truck into my pocket and said “Pocket like babies. Put truck in pocket”. How sweet. He remembered the baby and thought that it had been in the Momma’s pocket of her coat. Heart melted even as he continued to drive his truck over my “hill” and wanting to park it in the hole, aka my belly button.

      Monday, January 31, 2011

      January 31

      Well it's a month into this blog about B and so far so good. Not able to blog everyday, but am doing the best I can. And with a busy 2 1/2 year old like B, it actually is a lot!

      The past few days he has been pretty clingy. I really haven't had any "alone" time, but B has had plenty of Mommy time. The other day I even said to him "I just need some space" not at all in a mean way just kind of matter of fact and he looked at me, smiled, and said "Me space! Me space boy?". It made me laugh out load. Then we continued to talk about space, space ships, space guys, and everything space.

      I have started a new "hobby" and B is quite interested in it, Roller skating (joined roller derby league actually, but that's a whole other blog). He is pretty understanding when I have to go to practice and is REALLY excited about all my equipment, especially my helmet. We talk about it often and he has even started to "help" me. I have off skate homework to do and he has really taken to helping me. I put on my skates and he holds my hand as I walk forward, backwards, sideways, and like a duck up and down the hallway. It started off not so great, he just kept wanting me to pick him up. This I can not do with my skates on! So I came up with him holding my hand. And like most toddlers, anything they can do to "help" they are game for. It's really sweet. Him holding my hand and leading me up and down the hallway. He really is proud. Afterward, he puts the skates on and tries to skate. He usually just makes it a foot or two before he walks out of them. I really need to find him a cute little pair to wear.

      Lately he has been using some new words, mostly to describe things. Some of those words are: cool, pretty, awesome, great, and my favorite cozy. He used cozy to describe his shower temperature yesterday. He is very concerned with things being too hot for him and when talking about his shower I said the water would be warm and just right. His response "Be cozy?". Too sweet.

      He really is awesome, great, cool, and makes me feel very cozy.

      Wednesday, January 26, 2011

      January 26

      Today is a stay home day for us, which is always appreciated, and we had a great day. TC spent the day with us, she hadn't felt well the past few days and needed one more day at home. The three of us planned our day soon after TC arrived. Wednesdays are story time at the library days and TC thought it would be fun to go to as well. It was fun. B still isn't doing much yet and mostly stays on my lap, tight lipped the whole time. TC contributed the most out of all the kids, but she was the only 6 year old among many 2 - 3 year old"s. Luckily the librarian didn't mind and I think welcomed some interaction.

      The two do play really well together. They often just play with the same type of toys next to each other, but they are starting to actually do things together. Today TC was chasing him around the house trying to take his blood pressure and then later with the syringe to give him a shot. All the while the dog and cat just stay out of their way and watch them run up and down the hallway. TC is pretty patient with him and he does well not taking every toy away from her. They have their moments, but I am thankful he has someone to have those moments with.

      B talks about TC nearly everyday. He is always wanting her to come over. The other day on the way home from school our conversation started without any mention of TC and then quickly changed to where she was the main person with him. The conversation went as followed:

      Me train ride
      Can I go?
      Not you
      Take my lunchbox.
      That's a good idea in case you get hungry.
      Sit in seat
      Where are you taking the train to?
      To airplane
      Can I go on the airplane?
      No. Not you
      Who are you going to visit?
      Go see Dora  (I know the kid is obsessed)
      Who will go with you?
      C (the dog) come on airplane. Sit next me.
      She would be very happy to go.
      So happy me!
      Take backpack. Two toys.
      Mimi and TC go to. I sit next TC.


      Not only does he choose to sit next to TC, but the dog can go and not me!

      Sunday, January 23, 2011

      January 23

      It’s been a busy week this week and I have not been able to blog about B as much as I would have liked to.  I have started to write down little notes about things he has done or said to blog about. So here are this past week’s notes:

      • ·On our to school one morning we passed a school bus, which we do every day and which we do talk about every day, he asked when he could ride on a bus. I said when he was bigger and he said “Big like tower?”
       
      • ·We were talking about how Christmas is over, Halloween too, and that he got presents and how he thinks he needs more. The conversation ended, I thought, until he started going over names; Mimi, TC, and Al, I asked him what he was saying. He then said that everyone needed more presents – Mimi, TC, and Al. I asked about Papa and he said “No, Papa don’t need toys”.


        •  Daddy usually wears tennis shoes and B knows it. The other day Daddy wore different shoes and left them in the kitchen. Yesterday B came into the kitchen and saw them. He walked over to them and said “Who’s that?”, I said they were Daddy’s and he quickly replied “No!”. I tried explaining that they were Daddy’s and he just wouldn’t hear it. He then looked at me, I almost thought he was going to get really upset, and said “Those R’s!” R is a friend who wears shoes similar to the one’s Daddy doesn’t wear too often. We see R about once a month and it amazes me that B remembers what type of shoes he wears. 

        • We had a little bit of a disagreement the other day. We were talking about the dog and how cute she is and how we love her. He then looked at me and said "No, I love her!" I tried to explain that I could love her too and he said no he loved her, and that I did not love her. I tried to explain that more than one person can love the same thing. As soon as I started to explain this I instantly knew he just wouldn't get it, it really is a hard concept for a 2 1/2 year old.  So now B loves the dog and I love the cat. That is how it is.
        ·      
        • Right now we are watching Annie. I don’t know why but when I saw it on Netflix I thought,       what the hell. I started it and thought B wasn’t too interested in it until I paused it to see how long it was. He then quickly piped up and said “What happened?”.

        It has been kind of a rough week for me. No particular reason. But I know that when I am feeling this way all I have to do is look at "my guy" and think how lucky I am to have him in my life. He is just a joy to be around and watch him explore his surroundings. He surprises me daily with how cleaver, smart, and funny he is. His memory is great, which I know one day will bite me in the butt. There are times that he overwhelms me and I just have to sit and relax and remember that he is just a 2 1/2 year old s**t and that I just have to be patient. His emotions are up and down so fast that I don't know how I would deal with all that running in my head. I just hope he looks at me as someone who can help him calm when the waves of emotions that come and also ride the waves when they just need to be ridden.

          Tuesday, January 18, 2011

          January 18



          You know when you are friends with someone long enough you can understand what they say, even with a mouth full of food, a grunt, and a nod of the head? That happened with B and I tonight. We were having a gourmet dinner of McD’s (I know, but we hardly have it and it's a busy night at our house on Tuesday’s) and we were finishing up. We had talked about washing hands after dinner, a favorite activity of B’s, and he had remembered. With a mouth full of dinner had said “Me wash hands?” I said yes. His response was to nod his head toward the kitchen, give a cute smile, and and give a grunt. Instantly I knew what he wanted, to wash his hands in the golden sink, the kitchen sink. He loves to do anything that involves the kitchen sink. This for me involves lots and lots of towels.

          The other day he helped me do dishes. It had been a couple days so there was quite a backup. I had almost finished when he decided to help me. I don’t always so it is a treat when I do. So I pulled the stool up, which does not work well size wise and he has to stand on it sideways, and off he went merrily washing away. By the time he “finished” half of the clean dishes were back in the sink.

          I love just watching him do whatever comes to his little mind. Just now he was giving a drink to the dog from his juice box.


          Saturday, January 15, 2011

          January 15

          It is 10:30 in the morning and I feel as if we have already had a full day. B and I got up about 6:30, after laying in bed trying to get him to go back to sleep for about a half hour, and have already done a lot. We are on our second load of laundry, wrapped presents for a party tonight and went outside to play and shovel!

          Daddy got up a bit after us and after he finished eating he said he was going to shovel. I quickly volunteered B to help and practically ran to get him changes out of his jammie's and into his snow gear. I got him out to help and I was off to take a shower, with no time limit! When I got out I heard them talking outside about B wanting his bike. I wasn't quite sure Daddy would agree to it and was a little surprised when he came running inside and said "Does your camera have video, he want's to ride his bike in the snow!". I got the camera and set it up for him and then I quickly got dressed to watch him. He was too cute! His face was all red, his nose dripping down to his chin, and the biggest smile on his face. I took a turn pushing the bike through the snow while Daddy took more video. We then played out front in the snow some more and then headed to the back yard. He climbed up his swing set and pushed his swings and just was having a great time.

          We had been outside for quite some time when I suggested we go inside. He instantly started stomping his little feet and saying "Noooooooo". He would not listen to me when I said we were cold, but I did get him in by saying how cold C (the dog) was and how sad she was and "Poor C". He is such a sweet little guy that he looked at C and said "Poor C, she cold". And we all walked into the house without another objection, another diversion tactic put to use!

          While sitting here writing about our morning B is playing at his table in front of me. He has a little block that came from McD's where Ronald pops out from the top. He was talking to Ronald saying "Want coffee? You funny hair. Me funny hair. Me B, my Mommy, and my Daddy". A drive through to him has coffee and bagels. My kind of guy.

          He also just came up to me wearing his Dr. kit stethoscope and saying "Me Dr. B. I feel your heart?".

          Wednesday, January 12, 2011

          January 12 - cont.

          It was bath night (tubby time) here at our house. B is no longer using his "bath" toys and now runs from the bathroom to the living room to get toys to put in the tub. There is usually a few turned down, like tonight his BIG firetruck, and then a few settled on, mostly match box cars. Since he was a baby and taking baths in the big tub, bath time has been the same routine: play, wash, play some more, and rinse. I sit on his stool and just watch him, which I love. And since he started taking baths in the big tub C (the dog) has always come to visit and check on how things are going. B loves it when she comes in and always raises his cup to offer her a drink, which she happily drinks and then off she goes to lay in the hallway. B usually calls her back a few more times for another drink, sometimes she comes sometimes not, and then he gets busy playing with his toys again.

          It is funny how everyone, including the pets, get into the routine of things pretty quickly. And how we are so used to the way things go, that when he don't do the "norm", it just isn't right. B showed me this when he got out of the tub.

          When I get him out of the tub I always wrap him in his towel and pick him up. We then look in the mirror and make faces at each other and I usually say how much I love him. Since he was first taking tubby's in the big tub we have done this. Tonight, I don't know why, but I forgot to look in the mirror. I was almost to his room with him in my arms when he pointed to the bathroom and yelled "the mirror". It was so wonderful to know that he enjoys all our little things we do as well. We then went back to the bathroom and stood in front of the mirror making faces at each other and giving each other kisses, B's were big wide open one's.

          January 12

          Bedtime often takes longer than I think it should. We switched B to a big boy bed well over a month ago. I used to be able to just put him in his crib and walk out of the room and relax for the night. Since moving him to a twin bed it has not been so easy. It is not a kicking, screaming, crying fest (which I am thankful for) but I just don't think we have it down just yet.

          I started off laying in bed with him and have slowly moved to just sitting in the room. But when a sweet little voice says "You lay down too?" it is so hard to ignore. I often give in and lay down with him. The next night I try hard to stay strong and just sit on the floor in his room. Lately I have been sitting in the rocker while he falls asleep. It has actually gone quite well. At nap times he is out within 10 minutes and at bed time less than 20.

          Last night I put him in bed and sat down next to the bed. I then asked him if he wanted me to sit next to him or in the rocker. He replied "you sit rocker. Me sit on you". How can I deny that? So we sat and rocked a few minutes and then I laid  him down. I did lay next to him for a few, but then got up and sat in the rocker and just listened to him  fall asleep.

          It is just so hard when you know that the little person ASKING to snuggle with you will, in just a few years,  say "yuck" when you suggest snuggling. I take the opportunities when they come up.

          The Super Nanny may not agree with our "not so routine" bed time, but she isn't the one who is going to lose her little "snuggler" in just a few years.

          Tuesday, January 11, 2011

          January 11

          B is the reason I am so tired this morning. He had a rough night and kept asking to "get up". He was up around 3:00 am and did not sleep well after that. We were ALL up at 6:00.

          Daddy was just asking him about school and the friends he will see there. B just said he loves his friend P. Sadly P has left our school to go to another school in the area. :(

          Hopefully B will have a good day and so will Mommy and Daddy, even on the little sleep we all got last night.

          Sunday, January 9, 2011

          January 9

          Yesterday I didn't get a chance to blog to I will blog for today and for yesterday as well.

          January 8
          When Mimi came over earlier this week she brought with her B's Christmas gifts. I suggested she wait to give him the bigger present when we gave TC (Mimi's 6 year old little girl) her presents. So I put the present in my craft room while she busied B with opening up his "stocking" presents. I hid it in the corner and even covered it with a bag,

          I thought I did a good job of hiding it. I did not. B and his eagle eye vision saw the Santa wrapping paper as he crawled under the table to reach something that had fallen. If he hadn't of gone under the table, he would never had noticed it, I swear. Instantly he wanted to open it and I just wasn't sure what to do. I know I always love seeing someone open a present I picked out for them and I know Mimi feel's the same. So I tried to talk to him about having to wait and that I would put the present up. He responded with a big long "Nooooooo". I then said "Let's wait for Mimi to come over to open it" his little eyes sparkled and hugged the box to his chest and ran out to the living room. He then set the package down on his table and said "Me wait for Mimi". During this I was trying to get Mimi on the phone to see when she was coming over. I couldn't get a hold of her. I looked at him and he was standing so sweetly with his little hands on the box and one little finger slowly flipping the corner of the wrapping paper over. The paper ripped a little and he just slowly picked at it and then would pat it down and then pick at it and then pat it down again. Over and over he did this. He just couldn't wait to open it. I then said "Okay, you can open it" realizing that I just couldn't make him wait. He ripped the paper and tore open the box to discover a "race car" and "guys" inside. It was a Bat mobile with  Batman, Joker, and Penguin guys included. Love at first sight.

          Later when Daddy got home he ran to the door and showed him his car saying "goes really fast!", and when Mimi came later he raced to the gate to show her the car. This morning when he woke up you could tell when he remembered about the car. It was as the little light bulb went off and he perked up and said "race car!",

          January 9
          This morning Mimi and I had plans, so B and Daddy had a morning together. Daddy had announced this morning that they were going to go shopping. B said
          "Go shopping toys?"
          "No, you we aren't going shopping for toys"
          "Need more toys"
          "You don't need any more toy's"
          "Choo choo train" "
          "You have a train"
          This was how the conversation went. It was cute to listen to from the other room.

          It's hard having a cute little face look up at you at the store and say "Look at toys?" and not go and look at the toys and not end up buying that cute little face just one little toy. It is so hard. I know when I go out shopping it's hard not to buy something that is not on my list. Whether it's a chocolaty yummy goodie or new pack of pens. It's hard. And I do usually end up giving in to that cute little face looking up at me.

          But I am not the only one! Later when Mimi and I had returned home, B and Daddy were still out. When they came home Mimi saw B enter the house first and said "He's got something". He was so happy to show us what he got: a football guy! It is a figurine of Tony Romo from the Dallas Cowboys in his "throwing" pose. Not really meant for a two year old, but meant for a two year old who was about to lose it in Target who really wanted a football guy.

          He fell asleep at nap time with it, took a bath with it, and needed to know where he was when he went to bed tonight.

          Friday, January 7, 2011

          January 7

          Today we spent a lot of time in the car. Getting to school took nearly 45 minutes and driving home about an hour. We chat while driving and talk about the trucks and cars we see. Driving home I was getting frustrated with how slow everyone was driving. I know it was snowing and I am a safe driver, but we could have gone more than 35 MPH! I was talking to B about this and he just kept saying "Going slow, not fast" and I would reply yes. I would in a few minutes say out loud "WHY?", because of the speed, or lack there of, and then he would say "Why?", I would then reply "I don't know". Back and forth this went for quite some time. When we finally got up to a normal speed and I stopped complaining, the talk switched to a very common topic: car crashes. He has no concept that a car crash can hurt people or that they can be really bad. He just knows that a car gets "crashed up" and a tow truck and a police car are there to help.

          But he does have first hand experience with a small crash that happened, and he talks about it ALL the time, including tonight. He retells the story of A. (Mimi"s 16 year old son) and how he "crash Mimi's car". Tonight he was telling me how A. crashed Mimi's car and how he was "mad" and "stomping his feet". He went to talk about how Mimi's car hurt, we saw A. at car crash, and how we drove Mimi to car crash. He repeated over and over how A. was "mad" and "stomping his feet", he would say this with with such vigor and enthusiasm he would even raise he little fists up and punch the air. It was pretty funny seeing his little hands shoot up in the air in the rear view mirror.

          B. telling of the story and injecting his thoughts of how A. felt (I assume, and only assume, that A. was indeed mad, but did not stomp his feet) is so sweet. The stories he retells and the emotion he puts in them is just wonderful. I love listening to him talk about things that have happened or about what he is playing with at the moment. His vocabulary is expanding everyday, it is just amazing. He says words that I don't even realize he knows or let alone heard.

          Thursday, January 6, 2011

          January 6

          Today B's Aunt Mimi came to visit and as always she came bearing gifts, the sugary kind. One was a little Santa toy that dispensed jelly beans. He has never had jelly beans until tonight. He figured out quickly how to work his new little toy and off he was eating the jelly beans one after the other. He even would announce what color he was going to eat next. Mimi then pulled out her new Christmas gift, a flip camera, and began filming. She was filming him eat his jelly beans and asked him what presents he got. He then proceeded to show the camera his new little toys, four little "gummy" dinosaurs. Mimi then asked him what he was eating. He ignored the question, so it seemed, and kept chewing. He then moved his mouth funny and then looked right at the camera and opened his mouth to "show" Mimi what he was eating. I think he got that from his father.

          Wednesday, January 5, 2011

          January 5

          Well it is the 5th day of January and I am a little late with my idea. If only I thought about on January 1st! SO to make up for the lost 4 days I will share a few things that have happened since the beginning of the year. They may not be in exact order, but it has only been 5 days.

          • While saying goodbye to daddy the first day back to school after vacation, B kind of started to whine. I was worried he was going to say he wanted to stay home. But instead said "I want a real football helmet to wear on my head". He then continued to talk (and whine) about it the whole ride into school.
          • This morning he bumped his head a little and wanted to come sit with me. While sitting with me I started to hum some random song, just because, no real reason, and he started to hum with me. He then looked at me and said "We go sit in rocker in my room" heart melting, I got up and followed him to his room where he proceeded to jump on his bed full of energy, no longer wanting to rock. It was all worth it just to hear him ASK to go sit and rock.
          •  His latest obsession, besides wanting a real football helmet to wear on his head, is watching T.V. I know. I know. I always thought I would super limit his exposure to just one show a day before bed, but watching him watch his favorite shows is just too sweet! He talks back and answers all of Diego and Dora's questions! And to hear him sing along to there songs is just adorable!
          •  In the morning we were having fun and I was giving him "horsey" rides. When later I was folding laundry and putting it all away, he found my belt. He then wanted to wear it, which I helped him with, and then he jumped down and ran away saying "I cowboy. My rope!" swinging the end of the rope as he ran.
          • On the same day, while folding yet another load of laundry, he was climbing on the bed and wanting to get thrown in the pile of clothes and tickled. He ran out of the room and then back and was up on the bed in no time (with the help of his stool he dragged out of the bathroom earlier) he then started to cough. It was at this point that I noticed he had taken a bite of his apple. I watched as he proceeded to cough/spit half his apple out, onto the bed and the pile of clean clothes. Oh well. At least most of the clothes "sprayed" were his.
          • While sitting on the couch he realized my wallet was on the side table next to him. He opened it up and took out my three dollars handing it to me saying "here go", which I would happily take and then return to him. He then took out a Target gift card (which sadly only has less than $2 on it) and looked at it closely. "Buy football helmet?" was all he said.

            B is The Reason

            B. really is the reason for everything I do. From getting out of bed in the morning, going to bed at night, and everything in between. I love to be with him and watch him grow, learn, explore, and create.

            I thought that I would start a blog about him, us, motherhood, and everything else that we/I do. Everyday I will try (yes TRY) to blog about something that he did, said, or acted out against. And will include what I did, said, or acted out against as well. Our days are busy and often filled with funny little bits here and there and this is also a way for me to journal about him (and me) and to share it with loved ones. And to make sure that I really do TRY to blog on a daily basis.